Day 2 of Blogging and Fears of the Future.

Marso 18, 2012

Surfing the internet for blogs to follow, I stumbled upon 2 blogs authored by people in their 20’s. I was surprised how similar our current views are about the world, particularly the fear of owning up to adult responsibilities. I don’t know. I am in my early twenties (specifically 21, turning a year older a few weeks as of this writing) but i feel older.I don’t really understand teenage behavior now, the way I knew I would have understood it a year, or two ago. Since graduating from college and starting work, my whole take on life has completely changed. I was actually doing a self-assessment days ago asking myself if I had always been like this. Well modesty aside, I am definitely more mature than most of the people I met in high school and in college but I had never thought of life and what lies ahead the way that I am seeing things now. I don’t really like to think that it’s a bad thing, and that it’s something permanent. I am crossing my fingers that just like teenage angst, this is but a phase that goes with my transition to adulthood. But it is certainly scary just thinking about the responsibilities I have to perform once I fully accept the fact that I am no longer a teenager. It’s almost like getting into a new world, without any certainty whether I would be able to go back to my previous one.

4 Tugon to “Day 2 of Blogging and Fears of the Future.”

  1. zezil Says:

    Which makes it even more exciting right?=B


    • I sure hope I can say that as I have always branded myself as someone who is always up to challenges. Probably the idea of having the privilege to decide and plan things on my own just overwhelms me as of the moment. It is not like I don’t trust myself in this department because I am pretty sure I have made several good decisions in the past. But I have this feeling that the ones I have to make soon are graver, and far more consequential.
      But yes, I do agree. There is always thrill in the thought of experiencing new things. 🙂

      • zezil Says:

        very well said.haha. Well, I encountered a ‘wisdom’ just recently, it says “if you are too afraid to commit mistakes, then you will never come up with something original”. The other one is, ‘experience’ is what you get if you don’t get what you want. I don’t know if I make sense (probably because I havent eaten dinner yet) my point is, this ‘independent’ challenges are the only ones which could make you discover yourself, your capabilities, and your limits as well. So embrace it! Graver you said? Well that’s because you got older, more mature; it is just fitting that you take bolder. more daunting obstacles. But dont fret, youll handle it.


  2. Those were indeed very inspiring considering they came from someone who has not had dinner yet. 🙂

    I guess you are right. A shift in perspective would sure help. Thanks. 🙂


Mag-iwan ng Tugon

